PacificHost Review, Rating & Secret Unveiled 2016

PacificHost
our editors
26 reviews 4.26 of 5
Not Recommended
PacificHost is a typical cheap web hosting provider which prices shared hosts 50% cheaper than the average of market, but keeping profit from overselling and cutting hiring. As a result, PacificHost web host is poor performance and lack of customer service.

PacificHost unlimited web hosting is pricing at only $2.49/mo, with additional 30% discount by using the coupon code below. This is nearly the cheapest rich featured web host except free web hosting. It's recommended for you to learn web hosting or web technology, but not launching a website for a long time. Read the in-depth review about PacificHost Web Hosting.
Coupon
PacificHost Coupon - 30% Discount exclusive

The exclusive and secret PacificHost offer - 30% Discount, from $2.49/mo

PacificHost - Hosting Uptime Chart

PacificHost - Hosting Review Chart

Editorial Review
26 User Reviews
1 Hosting Plans

PacificHost Overall Review 3.00 of 5

Frankly, PacificHost is the cheapest US based web host that we never saw elsewhere. If you bill for 3 years, you can get $1.74/month and a free domain name by using the PacificHost coupon code WH30OFF. Lots of consumers choose PacificHost due to the affordability, who are from developing countries especially.

We recommend PacificHost web hosting for you in the case that you're looking for a web host to practise technology or thoughts, but not running websites for a long time, because the PacificHost web host loading speed and customer service is not good.

If you have decided to launch a website, you may consider WebHostingHub, pricing at $3.95/mo, 1 free domain, free $75 Google AdWords, TERRIFIC customer service. Read more.

PacificHost Performance Review 3.00 of 5

As one of our own site hosted with PacificHost for testing, the hosting uptime is basically satisfied. We were only gotten into problem 2 times in 2011, which were not caused by ourselves.

PacificHost loading speed is inconsistent, especially during US business time. Sometimes it takes over 10 seconds to load the WordPress home page with 5 full articles. It shall be caused by the overloading of web host, because the network connection speed still looks reasonable. You may try the downloading speed testing tool published by PacificHost by yourself, although it may be optimized particularly.

PacificHost Control Panel Review 4.00 of 5

PacificHost uses the award-winning cPanel for web hosting control panel. It's icon based and easy to use. You can get started to manage everything related to your website in minutes, which include domains, websites, files, databases, email accounts, FTP accounts, scripts, backup, etc. With cPanel, you can just simply imagine that you're managing the website on local desktop, but not shared web hosting.

Additionally, PacificHost control panel is integrated with Softaculous. Softaculous includes more than 150 free software scripts including WordPress, Joomla, PHPBB, OSCommerce, etc. You can easily start a blog, album, e-commerce, forum, etc.

PacificHost Technical Support Review 3.00 of 5

PacificHost provides 24/7 support via live chat, telephone, email and ticket system, but their support staffs are quite busy always and not knowledgeable enough that you have to wait for hours even a few days to get the issue resolved usually.

After all, you only pay about $2/month. You cannot expect the customer service is the same excellent as some business-class web hosts like InMotion hosting.
  • Tania Melo Correia from United States
    submitted on Aug 03, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Would like to say that I've found a good home for my project. It turned out that I tried many web hosts, but any of them didn't even come close to pacifichost.com. So far I have been very pleased. I have not noticed any downtime or slow browsing speed. They sent a guy out to look at it turns out I did something wrong in my config file. They fixed the entire thing no cost to me. Great + for their customer support service. It also provides tools to help identify the cause and to arrive at a solution. Uptime is good. They are very professional in approach and follow up. All in all, Pacifichost runs an honest business that treats customers with respect.

    The 0 of 0 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Giovanni T from São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
    submitted on Jul 07, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Pacifichost Rocks! Excellent in my personal opinion. I am using Pacifichost Executive VPS to host over 200 websites including E-commerce, Wordpress and several communities for more than a year. I can definitely say this because as a webmaster, reseller and webdesigner for over three decades and having gone through Ups and Downs, ins and outs, transfers and migrations, and hearing a lot of BS from many big (and I mean BIG) Brazilian and other international Internet hosting companies, PACIFICHOST was the ONLY ONE that met my needs and gave me the 'follow-up' that all webmasters want, always with a decent and honest SERVICE at a fare price. I have migrated through almost half of a dozen Hosting companies and Service Providers in the last year. Due to my sudden traffic increase and using shared hosting on a 'cheap' (but best) Hosting company in South America CPU and Memory usage went 'berserk'! I had to backup, transfer, configure and reinstall hundreds of Domains and SubDomains as many of you know, specially those who manage and host many websites. Easy, many will say but on the practice there is always something that goes wrong or doesn't match! For those looking for a new host, Pacifichost doesn't give more nor less that what they advertise and I PERSONALLY RECOMMEND 101%. Forget unbelievable offers from out of this world, what you pay is what you get at Pacifichost! And I want to add that their support and 24 hrs. Online customer service beats from far (10x0) American Bluehost, S.American UOL, Brazilian Insite and others that I still use (due to force majeure reasons) or I was their customer. Did you ever question your self why there are so negative reviews about host and almost no good ones? Everyone can find reviews about hosting companies all over the Internet. After reading many of them I noticed that almost all are negative, why? I am trying to understand why everyone complains about the 'good ones' and you can't find any criticism about the 'rascals'? Is the competition making fake reviews? Possible! I think so, don't you? Pacifichost's services are excellent and their support never let me down! If you are planning to sign up for a hosting service, first think very well and analyse the different plans since Linux WHM is tricky and a little complicated for beginners. There are some things you must keep in mind, for example: Apache Linux VPS PHP - do you know how to fine tune Mysql using PhpMyAdmin and my.cnf? Can you handle php.ini and htaccess files? In most cases you will need to add Litespeed or nginx for better performance... and many other small but crucial issues that can be Googled. Any way my conclusion is that as I said before, you get what you pay for! But on a Cost Benefit analysis Pacifichost is one of the best! If you are readung this review it means you are probably looking for a hosting company and therefore I wish you good luck!

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Andreas S. Larsen from France
    submitted on Jun 06, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have been using pacifichost.com for over a month now with a shared hosting account. It gives good service at an affordable price, with multiple ways to pay, even Paypal, monthly too, and they don't rip you off. Your in control of your service. I am not a technical-minded person and they have walked me through everything I've needed to make my hosting experience with them a great experience. The sales and Technical are purely professional and timely. Thank them for being there. I hope they will continue this way. The speeds I am experiencing are awesome. I got everything I need, set up correctly!

    The 4 of 4 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Aline Fernandes. from Czech Republic
    submitted on May 22, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I signed up with pacifichost over 3 months ago. In my first week it wasn't that great as my website was down for an hour but it apparently was due to the nic card needing to be replaced. With that aside, the support is always there, which is an issue I had at my last host. Everytime I go on their website, and I've spammed their chats almost so they probably don't like me very much lol. Everytime I start a chat though they answer within like a minute so I appreciate always having somebody I can talk to on the site. Sometimes though they would ask me to submit a ticket, but that was for a whmcs install and a nameserver issue - but they replied like an hour later and set it all up. I can't say they have the fastest network, or the best nic cards but gawd darnit they have the best support.

    The 2 of 3 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Customex from United Arab Emirates
    submitted on May 02, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    We always have issues with our emails. It's literally every month! Not receiving and not sending any messages. Live chat is not helping. Agents will just end the chat whenever they want to without proper closing. They will not answer your questions about why is all the problems occurring every time. Poor service. This company is TOTALLY NOT RECOMMENDED!

    The 0 of 3 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Bret from Wewahitchka, Florida, United States
    submitted on Apr 24, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    One of the slowest hosters, and the lie every time you call. I started with them 4/22/11, and on the 23rd I was requesting support and there response was it works for us! I said no it does not work, they wrote back sorry your ip was blocked. NP. 4 hrs later I'm contacting them back. and their response oh your ip was blocked. 4/30/2011: Contacting them again this time a domain issue. 5/01/2011: I'm back and they say sorry we are doing migrations. 4/27/2012: and it was taking sometimes 2 to 3 minutes to load a page. Which after 3 days they said it was a permissions issue and wouldnt happen again. 1/23/2013: I got on chat and complained about ungodly speeds ( 1 time it took over 5 mins) they suspended me for 2 many nodes (found out it was a master email account I didnt know about) they deleted then said that and permissions where the speed issues. also happened in Feb (26ish) (moved a main site to another hoster) and in the beginning of March. 3/28/2013: all sites down. They Got them back up and blamed me for doing a WP update also a permissions issue they fixed. They said I was using to much memory (Small WP site with under 40 articles, and maybe on a good day 50 people visiting, Had many hours in layout and design) 3/29/2013: Toby got involved, by noon my main site hosted there was gone and they had no backups and blamed it on a mystery person I told them to cancel the account and Toby said we would refund my last payment. They didnt refund me, but Billed me again 3 weeks later. This place is a disgrace, I would not recommend this Hoster to anybody. And contacting management forget it. And when they respond to this dont listen to them, as I have all the emails to back all I have said plus more. I would say out of 2 years of service I had 1 year of ok (slow) and 1 year of hell. Maybe I need to contact a Attorney.

    The 0 of 2 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Vehicros from Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
    submitted on Apr 05, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    My Pacific hosting account was fine for for the first couple of months, and the service was good, but now the server(s) have become soo slow, to the point of websites taking 2-5 minutes to load, or just not loading at all. And now when I call to talk to support, they always give the same excuse, and say everything is fine, or that the websites load fine for them, etc. They wont help, they only offer excuses, like the files are being backed up, or software being upgraded. It's really starting to sound like a bunch of BS.

    The 0 of 3 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Pavel Veleba from Dallas, Texas, United States
    submitted on Feb 16, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've been applying Pacifichost regarding 3 months and wanted to reveal my expertise to date. The support may be clean to date without any distractions. We've utilized the actual are living chitchat several times, one ahead of We registered along with another after i registered, simply because We weren't certain tips on how to build my nameservers they arrange it in my opinion which was trendy. I've the actual supplier consideration by the way therefore I am just primarily using them for your totally free WHMCS license which preserves myself lots of dollars along with We was able to deploy which with the specialist within cpanel. Usually We haven't much got any kind of complaints about the actual support to date however We'll be sure you post any kind of messages.

    The 2 of 2 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Pavel Veleba from New York, United States
    submitted on Feb 13, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've been applying Pacifichost regarding 3 months and wanted to reveal my expertise to date. The support may be clean to date without any distractions. We've utilized the actual are living chitchat several times, one ahead of We registered along with another after i registered, simply because We weren't certain tips on how to build my nameservers they arrange it in my opinion which was trendy. I've the actual supplier consideration by the way therefore I am just primarily using them for your totally free WHMCS license which preserves myself lots of dollars along with We was able to deploy which with the specialist within cpanel. Usually We haven't much got any kind of complaints about the actual support to date however We'll be sure you post any kind of messages.

    The 2 of 2 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Dan Callaghan from Littlehampton, West Sussex, United Kingdom
    submitted on Jan 18, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I own several web design agencies and host over 1400 websites on 30 plus hosts around the globe, and have always favoured cpanel. At first glance I was impressed by their website and promises of uptime and superior customer service. How wrong could I have been, I moved 11 websites from my hostgator plan (same price and features) and as always tracked their uptime with uptime robot and webmaster tools (Google) over 5 months I had over 150 messages from Webmaster tools stating the Bot could not access my sites, a further 214 message from uptime robot telling me my sites were down (and sometimes not all at the same time??). with a uptime score of 73% There customer service is non existent, each time telling me to upgrade to a bigger more expensive package. You just have to look round the web on other review sites to realise what a bunch of cowboys this company really is. The final straw for me came when 10 of my sites had their Mysql databases deleted over night, and when I asked them to roll them back was informed that they did not have back ups (unlike every other host I have ever used). also it took them 3 days to tell me this, after submitting 4 tickets. I have all the evidence from uptime robot and Google, and their Mickey Mouse Support system copied and will be documenting my whole nightmare on my blog, as well as launching a legal battle against them for false advertising and in my opinion fraud. I just hope this review (along with the 100 or so I have/am writing about them all over the web) will save other people from suffering as we did and the hands of these morons.

    The 0 of 4 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Jas Carntis from Dallas, Texas, United States
    submitted on Jan 17, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've been a customer of another popular web host for a few months however either their service has been degrading or I just happen to be really unfortunate to be on a bad server, as the server constantly loses connectivity and there are periods where mail I send through outlook will just never send. After doing a bit of research I ended up at PacificHost as their reviews on the internet are by far much superior to most other companies, and on some review sites you can see the IP Address of the reviewer so I did a whois check and they all seem legit. So with that aside their price point, features, and cPanel base is what convinced me to try them, I only signed up for their shared hosting as my site isn't too complicated. Their signup process was nice and simple, their emails are the most detailed and gorgeous looking emails I have ever had the pleasure of reading (litterally their emails are like eye candy they look so nice). I appreciate the small things and you can tell that Pacific Host has put allot of effort into making sure the customer experience is smooth. Anyway... I changed my nameservers and my site has been running well since then, I've taken advantage of the Cloud flare cdn and they have many other interesting things inside the control panel that you just don't see anywhere else. I haven't had the same issues I was experiencing before, haven't noticed any connectivity or mail issues. I haven't had the opportunity to test the support yet however the rep who I was speaking to on chat was very knowledgeable and responsive. I hope the service remains this well, however only time will tell.

    The 2 of 2 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Knight Queen from Dallas, Texas, United States
    submitted on Dec 15, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    We are in the process of setting up a design company and the guys at Pacific Host helped us get setup and running with our WordPress website, it was having an issue through the auto installer in Softaculous and they fixed the issue and sent us back our login, and they added some neat plugins into WordPress that I didn't even know existed, one blocks spam so we really appreciate the extra effort these guys went into going above and beyond into helping us. They have a good response on tickets and offer a load of extra stuff that I've never had before with my other hosting company. Great job guys, fantastic service!

    The 2 of 2 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Panda Stockman from Dallas, Texas, United States
    submitted on Dec 07, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    As an IT pro for the past 12 years, I've been through alot of hosts and I've had so me bad experiences and good experiences. After hosting with PH for the past 2 months I couldn't be happier with the level of performance, uptime and support that I've received from them. Anytime I have an issue, I always get a real answer and it doesn't take very long. Whenever there are server or network issues and I notice as I monitor my site from hyperspin, first thing I do is check twitter.com/pacifichost_ops and they usually already mention the issue and that they are working on it. Never has my site been down for more than an hour at a time. Overall though downtime is rare and for the price you pay, it's a good deal too. IMHO, PacificHost is really how a hosting company should be run, and I appreciate the level of service, and particularly the level of communication and transparency that PaciicHost offers - it's hard to find that anywhere else.

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Zdenek Babak from Houston, Texas, United States
    submitted on Oct 26, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    This is a good company, they've been around for a few years and their reviews go far back enough to prove it. As always when signing up with a new host I'm a little iffy even with the money back guarantees they all offer, as some will outright lie and refuse to offer you a refund. The order process was relatively fluid, however my order originally got declined and I had to send in a copy of my ID, apparently so because I'm nowhere near my billing address at the moment. That was a bit of a hassle but it's not their fault as I know online fraud is a big industry. I signed up with Pacifichost because I needed streaming video in the hopes of broadcasting some little league games around where I live, however I didn't ask them specifically if the "web hosting" service supported it and I later found out that it didn't, and I had to upgrade to a vps. Again it wasn't their fault though, as before I signed up I never asked them what specific service it was supported under. I did end up agreeing to move to a VPS plan and they moved my site over and they installed what is called "red5" that allows the video streaming to take place. Still trying to work out the kinks with my developer but for the most part I'm happy with their service and I haven't seen any red flags or things that would concern me. I've only been with them for about 2 months now but I'd rather put up a review about my initial experience before I forget, if anything else happens I'll be sure to update you guys.

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Bejamine Rohed from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    submitted on Aug 09, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've only been with Pacifichost for a month but I like to review services whether good or bad before I forget. I signed up with Pacifichost for a developer portal website, nothing too intense or hard to host by any means. I simply chose Pacifichost based on the previous reviews and talking to an agent on their live chat asking a few simple questions like money back and uptime whatnot. I haven't really needed any support as their welcome email was really thorough and gave me links about learning cPanel since it was my first time with cPanel, previously only used DirectAdmin. My website has been up for a month now with no downtime and I haven't run into any issues that really required the use of their support so I can't rate their support but it is certainly a legitimate service that can reliable host your website. All I have for now, if things change I'll surely reply to provide any updates and through some other WHT posts I saw you guys want my domain so I'll report my post with the domain here.

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Koby De Gillern from Netherlands
    submitted on Jun 30, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've been with PacificHost for 3 months and abit now, there support have been very helpful and my tickets has been resolved within the hour at the most, I'm using there VP3 plan for a development server I have for personal use, the setup was pretty instant on ordering, didn't have any issues, I haven't had any dowtime since I have been with them, PacificHost catched my eye due to the affordability, all in all, I am a happy customer and believe this company deserves a review, I will definitely recommend PacifcHost to others, keep up the good work, A+ from me.

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Sergey Valdin from Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
    submitted on Jun 08, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I've been with pacifichost for just 2 months now (I'm using their shared hosting Package) and have received nothing but quality service. Like most people, I've tried a variety of hosting companies and, although I haven't had many troubles, I've dealt with overloaded servers, slow customer service and various account limitations. Pacifichost's reliability is great with little downtime, the cause of which is always explained before hand or immediately, if it was unplanned, but what really stands out is their customer service. I have sent a handful of "tickets" to support and I always receive an answer promptly (often within minutes). I asked in the support ticket if there's any way they keep backups of our sites. They quickly responded and within an hour, I got my deleted files back - and my website running again. I am just experienced enough to cause real damage, and they have been patient and helpful at all times - can't recommend them highly enough!

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • David COOPER from United Kingdom
    submitted on May 08, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have seen some reviews here that aren't so nice (so much hate going around). I wanted to shed some light on this company. I've been with 2 other hosting companies who I'd rather not say since this review isn't about them. When I signed up with Pacifichost I wasn't lured in by their unlimited hosting but rather when I called them somebody answered (unheard of for quite a few companies) and he answered all my questions regarding their uptime, support and how they run their "unlimited" hosting. I signed up and I have been here for a about 2 months and I can say I am quite satisified. I ran into script permission error and submitted a ticket and they fixed it within 3 hours. One day my site was down and I called them, the guy opened a ticket for me and it turns out my IP was blocked. I later learned they actually allowed you to unblock your own IP in the client billing area. There have been a few times in which I noticed a speed issue with my site where it would take a few seconds to load but it doesn't happen very often and it occurs mostly with a test Magento install, which I was surprised to learn they supported Magento as while searching I found some hosts don't even allow it for some reason. So in short I am happy with Pacifichost, I haven't experienced any downtime, they always answer when I call their phone lines and I receive a response through the ticket system in a reasonable period of time. If I have to say anything negative it would be slight speed issues occasionally, their cPanel theme needs work, although I was told they are in the works on redoing it. Their live chat support can't do much other then open support tickets for you. Pacifichost isn't perfect but based on my interaction and level of service I have received it is worth it to me and it seems like they know what they are doing.

    The 1 of 1 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Kiril from Duluth, Georgia, United States
    submitted on Sep 28, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Yesterday I got a window to chat with their technical support and found their response was quite slow. In 10 minutes live chat, they just respond me three times. It's a typical small company. If you're looking for a web host for your business sites, keep away from pacifichost. I chose pacifichost for my private blog by their attractive price.

    The 9 of 11 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Trully from Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico
    submitted on Sep 12, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have been with PacificHost for about 1 year by now. Their control panel is general cPanel as I can get from almost linux shared web hosting providers. And the reliability is better than my expectation. But their customer service is just so so that they need to hire more staff. Overall, I'm satisfied with the service after all it's very cheap.

    The 7 of 9 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Georgeanne from Houston, Texas, United States
    submitted on Sep 01, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I'm using pacifichost for their email service. So far I have not seen an outage. I'm very happy with their all kinds of services. I'd like to recommend pacifichost to everyone. BTW, the offering price from this review site looks much cheaper than mine...

    The 6 of 6 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Trista from São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
    submitted on Aug 30, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have hosted with PacificHost for 3 weeks. I see nothing different to the more expensive hosts such as bluehost. The control panel of PacificHost is nearly the same as the latter one. Meanwhile it only costs me $62 for 3 years but the renewal price of bluehost is $7.95/month! By the way, the page views of my total 3 websites are around 300/day.

    The 10 of 13 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Janna Allen from Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
    submitted on Aug 12, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Overall, I'm happy with their service at such low cost. There is no difference between their cPanel and the cPanel used by other reputated companies like Bluehost, Hostmonster etc. So far, their network and server are reliable and fast. Their online support is a bit slow but acceptable. I think they should invest more money to hire more technician.

    The 4 of 5 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Fernanado from United Kingdom
    submitted on Jul 28, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Pacifichost completely meets my requirement - extremely competitive price and unlimited addon domains. I have only a little budget and plan to create a ton of startup websites for hatching. I don't contact their customer staff but the host is reliable so far. These are the things what I really required at this moment.

    The 9 of 11 readers like this PacificHost review!
  • Lonny Elvis from Tottori, Japan
    submitted on Jul 26, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I don't find any significant defects of their hosting services although it's only 2 dollars. I signed up with a 3 year order in last week by only costing 60 dollars and I got a free domain name with the plan. These are really attractive for the private and startup websites like a private webblog for me. There is no problem found so far. I recommend pacifichost although their customer service response is a bit slow.

    The 8 of 8 readers like this PacificHost review!