HostMetro Review, Rating & Secret Unveiled 2016

HostMetro
our editors
13 reviews 3.00 of 5
Not Recommended
HostMetro is a new brand of shared web hosting founded by a management team with over 50 years of combined web hosting experience with the mission to provide reliable and high-performance hosting service, responsive customer support, and risk-free purchase experience.

In 2012, HostMetro invested a million USD on building a completely new collocated data center with all the branded new powerful servers and latest cloud technology. As introduced by the management team of HostMetro, the company is not eager to make profit in a short time, but taking the user experience as the first objective. This is the reason why HostMetro provides the very budget web hosting plans, but also guarantees the web hosting quality.
Coupon
HostMetro Coupon - 20% Discount exclusive

The exclusive and secret HostMetro offer - 20% Discount, from $2.45/mo to $4.95/mo

HostMetro - Hosting Uptime Chart

HostMetro - Hosting Review Chart

Editorial Review
13 User Reviews
2 Hosting Plans

HostMetro Overall Review 3.00 of 5

HostMetro is a new brand founded in 2012. It invests a lot of money on the servers, software, network, customer service and marketing, but we cannot have a conclusion on this web host without time and customers' feedback. For peope looking for a branded and trusted web host, we don't recommend going with HostMetro.
  • Nadav from Coventry, United Kingdom
    submitted on Jan 21, 2016
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Super super slow. Simple page loads in a minute. All customer service do is say that everything is fine and try to give different reasons why it's a client side problem. Don't be tempted by the cheap price or the fake five star reviews.

    The 3 of 3 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • John Ad from Yavuz, Antalya, Turkey
    submitted on Jan 13, 2015
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I have been using Hostmetro with their hosting system and I am not happy at all. Firstly, the sites are amazingly slow. Second, they keep on suspending the account. They told that they suspend it because I am sending spam with my wordpress plugin Akismet. I told them that Akismet is an official Wordpress.com plugin, and it is for malware and spam protection. The support is inexperienced, and sends me reports of the external attacks Akismet is blocking, claiming Akismet is sending these! They suspend the whole website without informing. Don't buy it because it is cheap. It's a waste of money

    The 1 of 1 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Howie from Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    submitted on Aug 13, 2014
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    PRO: (1) SSH enable at no markup (2) Great bang for the buck CON: 1) ERROR LOG is a joke. resets in a few hours. WHY ? 2) NO RSYNC As long as you can live with the new negatives, I think they do a good job.

    The 0 of 0 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Frico from Northridge, California, United States
    submitted on Jun 28, 2014
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    They suspended all my sites because 1 of my email accounts was hacked. My sites were down for over an hour. Usually a host will quarantine or suspend just the email address in question. Host Metro shuts down everything. It's happened to me twice in less than 6 months. DO Not Use HostMetro!

    The 0 of 1 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Andrew from Viana Do Castelo, Portugal
    submitted on May 24, 2014
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Never, never again shall I use Host Metro. I was lucky and found out how bad they were before the 30 day guarantee was up. First my outgoing emails were blocked because their mail server was blacklisted, then my site was down for hours and hours (their "support" said it would only be down for 30 minutes, that was an hour after it had been down already, and 3 + hours later it was still down). I transfered to My True Host who get 5/5 from me

    The 2 of 3 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Lisa from Columbus, Ohio, United States
    submitted on May 05, 2014
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I need to issue a strong warning against HostMetro. They have been nothing but trouble, extremely unhelpful, rude, dismissive. They blatantly lie about server uptime, they delete files without warning or confirmation, they lock me out of my account for no reason, they refuse to co-operate or answer emails. Their attitude stinks. I have given them numerous opportunities to sort out many of the issues with my hosting, but they have just been rude, ignorant and extremely unhelpful, unreasonable, often providing completely inaccurate advice. The absolutely worst host ever - even worse than 1&1, and that's something. So, people, stay away from HostMetro as they will rip you off. I would not host with them again if they paid me.

    The 2 of 3 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Alex from Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
    submitted on Jan 20, 2014
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Scam!! Host Metro took my money for hosting and closed my account minutes after they received my payment. I had to open up a case against Host Metro with PayPal to finally get my money back after a month. HostMetro support star extremely rude, not to mention that they tried to rip me off. Thanks PayPal, shame on you HostMetro!

    The 0 of 4 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • TY from Westchester, Illinois, United States
    submitted on Oct 02, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I recently switched from a popular green web hosting company that had very high renewal rates. After a few years of suffering at those prices I couldn't take any more. I switched to HostMetro, and have been very satisfied. Website speed is GREAT, of course renewal prices are the same as a first time customer, and their FAST responding support team helped get my Wordpress websites transferred over and running (The company actually exists about an hour away from where I live)! Thanks HostMetro!

    The 1 of 2 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Rad from Lake Mary, Florida, United States
    submitted on Sep 05, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have searched for a good hosting company for a couple of days, and finally I found HostMetro. If there is a problem I get very quick response through mail or live chat. The most important thing is that the speed is very good, unlike some other hosting companies.

    The 6 of 8 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Acoyauh from Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
    submitted on Aug 28, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Avoid those guys. I signed up for a 3 year plan (I know, sorry) because of some great offer they posted. They charged my credit card and never enabled my account. All I got from their suport agents for days was that my account was cancelled due to lack of payment. I had to raise a complaint with my credit card company to eventually cancel the charge they made. While I was trying to find someone who cared about anything in their "support teams" I looked closely into their company. They actually appeared in 2012, yet you see positive reviews in several sites supposedly going back to 2010 or so. Looked into their "awards", too. All came from non-existing sites, sites where they were registered, but not given any awards, or were simply not verified by the issuer. All a smokescreen. As far as I can tell, I simply fell for a scam and gave money to some thieves. I simply took those new domains to my current host and live happily there. Won't fall for any of those too-good-to-be-true new hosting companies ever again...

    The 1 of 2 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Dr. Michael Stanley from Germany
    submitted on Jun 03, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I moved my website to hostmetro from my previous company because of downtime issues. I rely on my site being up as it is my business. So far hostmetro has been nothing but stellar, helping me move my site over and getting me up and running effortlessly. Glad I made the move!

    The 2 of 3 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Mara from Nanuet, New York, United States
    submitted on May 23, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Extremely cheap, however, it's much better than my expectation. At least, I could contact with a real person for asking some questions. I love the guarantee of lowest renewal price as I was suffered from the very expensive renewal charge elsewhere.

    The 4 of 5 readers like this HostMetro review!
  • Wright from Palo Alto, California, United States
    submitted on May 23, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I signed up an account at HostMetro 2 months ago. At the beginning, I was worried about the service quality and support matters, but they didn't made me disappointed. I don't have a long time experience, but I think it shall be a good choice for small business.

    The 9 of 10 readers like this HostMetro review!