Godaddy Review, Rating & Secret Unveiled 2016

Godaddy
our editors
22 reviews 2.91 of 5
Founded in 1997, GoDaddy is one of the largest web hosting companies worldwide providing a large set of solutions about internet. GoDaddy web hosting plans include shared web hosting, business web hosting, VPS, dedicated servers and cloud hosting. All their web hosting products come with a 99.9% uptime commitment and 24x7 customer support. GoDaddy has good reputation on web hosting reliability in the community.

So far, GoDaddy has released 3 upgradable shared hosting plans to meet the demands of most normal web hosting users. Named Economy, Deluxe and Ultimate, the plans are priced at $9.99/mo, $13.49/mo and $21.99/mo. As the company offers a 40% discount now, the effective prices are cut down to $5.99/mo, $7.99/mo and $12.99/mo for yearly billing. Note that no discount is applicable to quarterly billing.

The extra is a free .com, .co, .net or .org domain name (for yearly plans only). Besides, there is a 30 days money back guarantee which ensures that customers can get their money back for dissatisfaction. All is good, but if there is any limitation, it should be that the refund period is a little bit short, honestly.

GoDaddy has many data centers in US, Asia, Europe and Australia serving for global clients. But the speed the company delivers has always been controversial, criticized by a large number of webmasters. For people hosting small blogs, the company's service is reliable enough, but for those hosting business sites or eCommerce websites, GoDaddy is not the best choice.
Coupon
Godaddy Coupon - 40% Discount exclusive

The exclusive and secret Godaddy offer - 40% Discount, from $3.49/mo to $35.99/mo

Godaddy - Hosting Uptime Chart

Godaddy - Hosting Review Chart

Editorial Review
22 User Reviews
4 Hosting Plans

Godaddy Speed Review 2.50 of 5

There are many complaints about the slowness of GoDaddy shared web hosting in Google search. Is GoDaddy web hosting truly slow or just a rumor? To find out the truth, we have signed an account on the service and tested the speed of the database queries, page generation, and page loading time.

As a result, we find it is true that GoDaddy shared hosting is a little bit slow. The server responses take over 700ms, which is below the average. Still, this speed is acceptable for shared hosting in the case that eCommerce is not concerned. The reason for this slowness is not clarified yet.

The good news, however, is that we have seen an obvious increase in the page loading speed since 2016.

Godaddy Reliability Review 4.00 of 5

GoDaddy lives up to its reputation in reliability. The company guarantees 99.9%, and it operates 9 data centers in the US, Europe and so on, all of which are equipped with fully redundant UPS power system that offers additional 50% redundant power. Besides, its technicians and engineers keep monitoring the data centers closely 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Moreover, the infrastructure of GoDaddy Linux web hosting offers backup and restore solutions to provide further peace of mind for customers.

As the uptime chart above shows, GoDaddy can successfully provide 99.9% in the real world in most months. Both bloggers and business owners can rest assured that websites are always online.

Godaddy Control Panel Review 4.00 of 5

As is known, cPanel is the most easy-to-use control panel that provides a rich-featured interface within which there are tons of tools available for managing web hosting accounts and websites. Fortunately, GoDaddy adopts cPanel as control panel, with an easy-to-handle 1-click installer integrated.

With this control panel, webmasters can easily keep close attention to the server configuration and resource usage, and manage websites and all features quickly. And by using the installer, they are able to automate the installation of the most popular open source software like Drupal and Joomla with just several clicks.

Godaddy Feature Review 3.50 of 5

GoDaddy shared hosting services are reliable, but the plans this company offers are not the cheapest or most rich-featured choices on the market. For example, the primary Economy plan is purchasable at $5.99/mo, but it only allows hosting 1 website and includes 10 MySQL databases and 100 email accounts. Disk space is also strictly limited.

Moreover, even the Deluxe plan which costs as much as $7.99/mo (regularly $13.49/mo) comes with 500 email addresses only. For database features, the storage for a MySQL database is limited to 1 GB.

However, GoDaddy provides many good features although the server resources are not really rich considering the price. For instance, the widely used development features, such as PHP 5.3-5.5, MySQL, Python, Perl and Cron Jobs, are all available. Most common hosting needs should be met. Pay attention that Ruby on Rails is not allowed currently.

Godaddy Technical Support Review 3.00 of 5

GoDaddy has been offering responsive support service for years so that customers do not have to wait a long time for a professional solution. To get problems resolved instantly, they only need to send an email to the ready-to-help support team or make a call with the phone number shown at the top of the official site.

Besides, in the knowledgebase, there are a large amount of articles with detailed information about email, domain name, web hosting, website builder, SSL certificate, and other FAQs. From the articles, people can learn more information about hosting and find the right answers of many common issues.

A limitation in this aspect is that the live chat support is quite limited. This does not cause discomfort for native English speakers or those people who are not in emergency, but it does bring inconvenience to customers who need immediate assistance but have trouble in expressing themselves on phone. Another thing that may lead to troubles is that GoDaddy has discontinued offering support via a ticket system.
  • Millard from Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
    submitted on Oct 28, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have been with GoDaddy for 3 years. It is very fine when it is working, and its technical support is really good. Their technical support staffs are well trained, professional, friendly and patient, speaking native English. I have had issues for about 5 times, and each time I called for technical help and got instant respond and right answers, even at 4 am. Thanks very much!!!

    The 3 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Virginia from Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
    submitted on Jul 14, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    My experience with Godaddy is not quite good, especially for their support. They didn't even reply to my emails in 2 days, and there is no help over live chat. I'm not sure in which way I can reach them and have my problem resolved.

    The 3 of 5 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Jenny Chen from Singapore
    submitted on May 09, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Godaddy.com is awful. The tech support refused to fix a problem with the server my site was on. The server is very slow. It takes more than 30 seconds to load control panel. The tech support tried to blame it on a program I installed, This program is not active and no background processes exist and yet the still refuse to fix the problem. Instead they sent me a email explaining. How they JAIL you for using up the CPU when in reality my site did not use any of the CPU. I am going to cancel my account. I am also going to spread the word on all of the forums.

    The 2 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Doris from Fort Huachuca, Arizona, United States
    submitted on Apr 16, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I'll make this public because I'm not ashamed to say, this is my last day with GoDaddy. Listen, I am not an unreasonable person. But when I pay $50/month, I expect someone to answer the phone within 3-5 minutes, MAX. Not that average of 15-20 minutes that it takes to get an experienced GoDaddy tech person on the line. Also, claims of 99.9% uptime are totally false. For no reason at all (as in, I wasn't sending any kind of extraordinary traffic), my site went down for longer than 12 hours, 5 times in the past year. If that's acceptable to you, go with GoDaddy. Otherwise, I'd say you can get managed cloud hosting with better hardware and cheaper prices elsewhere - and oh yea, other companies actually answer the phone! Peace out GoDaddy!

    The 4 of 7 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Tom N. from Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
    submitted on Apr 10, 2013
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Very poor technical support. I called into the support center, the staff could not address my issue timely and helped me create a ticket, but I waited for a couple of hours without response. Secondly, another staff told me their shared hosting support tickets would be resolved in 48 hours. How long a problem solving time they needed!

    The 1 of 2 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Saxon Lion from Columbus, Ohio, United States
    submitted on Oct 19, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I paid to have my domain updated back on August 22 and it is still not updated today - Oct 17. I was then double billed in September for a non-working service. My service for the past two months has been a useless waste of my time and money because there was no service provided. No domain registered and could not log in after the upgrade. Today was the first opportunity I have had within my busy schedule to call and wait for an explanation. I was not given an explanation but was told it will be taken care of within two to three days. I was told this on my second call after not being able to get your service to work. The service is still not working. They did correct the double bill from September but have not offered me anymore for my hassles. At this point, I would not recommend GoDaddy.

    The 6 of 9 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Wren from Lansing, Michigan, United States
    submitted on Oct 03, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    It has taken 2 weeks to resolve an issue that we have been told multiple times was being handled. The support team did not accurately provide us the necessary items we needed to submit in phase one of initiating our SSL certificate. We placed our order on 9/20 (I have receipt documentation for everything), provided additional information on 9/22 and were given a 24 hour quote to completion. We contacted support every single day and were told it was being handled. On 9/26 we were told it would be completed within 5 hours and they had no idea why it was taking so long. On 10/1 I spoke with John B. and Chris M. who FINALLY isolated that the order was never even PUT THROUGH WITH COMODO. This is the most unprofessional service we have received with customer support. Customer support had no idea what was going on with our order. Unacceptable. This has delayed our build 11 days.

    The 5 of 5 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Andralyn from New York, United States
    submitted on Sep 27, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    It loads my sites very slowly, like 10 seconds to get my page loaded and I don't have any heavy stuff on my page only a simple WP without any plugins. I'm also testing site reliability with 'pingdom' and it's 85.30% uptime with 14 downtimes. They had issues with security breaching also but like 8 months ago. Support is awesome!

    The 10 of 15 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Langer from Columbus, Ohio, United States
    submitted on Sep 21, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Godaddy's grade has reduced from an A + just last year to an F this year. Multiple instances of downtime, full disks, poor server monitoring, inconsistent and inaccurate information from technical support staff. As I am writing this I am into the 12th hour of being offline with no specific resolution or eta. Needless to say I am no longer a happy customer. And now I am boarding a plane for a six hour flight cringing to see where things stand when I land.

    The 5 of 5 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Angel from Newark, New Jersey, United States
    submitted on Sep 15, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    It took over 2 days for GoDaddy tech support to change the domain name to the correct spelling. At first they told me there was not difference in the names and I had to point out like a parent to a child that there was a letter missing in the name. Then since the first domain name was incorrect my log in ID was no long the first 5 letters of my domain and this little problem took them only 45 minutes to tell me that they can not change the login id because it would mess up THEIR accounting. I guess they are more interested in themselves than satisfying a customer. Do NOT use this hosting site.

    The 4 of 6 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Kitra from Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    submitted on Aug 03, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend VPS

    I have twice had issues with GoDaddy regarding email storage. Both times they shut down my website hosting first and then call me to discuss options. When I call back I am put on hold for long lengths of time. It is very unprofessional. If you are seeking web hosting look elsewhere.

    The 3 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Duena from Washington, District of Columbia, United States
    submitted on Aug 02, 2012
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    Lack of basic communication and understanding from the systems administrator has led to outage of the site for a good three hours and requiring many calls till resolution. Very sour experience, sorry.

    The 3 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • gotwickdotcom from West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
    submitted on Nov 21, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    Pricing is great! Hosting is reliable! I have had very few downtimes in the 5 years + I have been hosting with them. Control Panel has a bit of a learning curve, and the value apps available are fairly easily installed, although I have had a slew of problems (mostly permissions!) with the repeated auto install/uninstall/reinstall of DotNetNuke, as well as the auto upgrades for same. Support is fairly good too, although it shouldn't be needed for their auto installs thru the control panel, which is basically why I had to call them repeatedly recently...Also, be sure to change your billing info should you change cards...if not, you could lose a domain...unless you want to pay an $80 renewal charge for it....

    The 1 of 1 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Lona Cui from Saffron Walden, Essex, United Kingdom
    submitted on Aug 02, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    Neutral reseller hosting

    My websites cannot run successfully in their host because of the trust level is not configured to be fully trusted the IIS. I had wasted 4 days talking to their support and researched the root causes. But finally gave it up and asked for money back. It's hard to communicate with some of their technician. They don't have experience on ASP.NET technology but considering themselve always right. I was suffered from these days and finally chose Arvixe ASP.NET hosting from besthostingsearch.com here.

    The 10 of 12 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Harbo Kimpton from Washington, District of Columbia, United States
    submitted on Jul 31, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I think this is the best windows hosting plan with cost under $5/month. I own a community based on communityserver which has been run smoothly with go daddy for 5 months. The performance and reliability of the server looks great at least better than my previous providers - aplus and midphrase. As a well known company, godaddy should be your best choice at anytime.

    The 0 of 0 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Courtney from United States
    submitted on Jul 26, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    The reliability and customer service of Godaddy is improved a lot compared to 2 years before. I have been their customer for 4 years from 2007. Their windows2003 server was not reliable - averagely went down one time per week. I nearly went away at that time. But after I upgraded to windows2008 server for free at the end of 2010, the reliability is significantly improved. I only encountered one downtime in past 8 months. I can see they're improving, this is important for why I signed up with another 3 years order in May this year.

    The 5 of 7 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Jennifer from Cupertino, California, United States
    submitted on Jul 15, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    Neutral web hosting

    I have been with Godaddy for 2 years. I think it's not bad. My only concern is about their customer support. Almost of their support engineer are not skilled at technology. And if you're new to Godaddy, you will be missing in their control panel by the way.

    The 6 of 8 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Xenos Lily from Pickering, Ontario, Canada
    submitted on Jul 08, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have been with Godaddy for 6 years already. I had used all their domains, economic shared web hosting, SSL certificate and VPS so far. I never encountered any tricky problems which they cannot resolve. The only reason the people having complaints is that they serve too many customers. Even there is only a small portion of customers having complaints, but the total number of them are much bigger than other hosting companies.

    The 5 of 6 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Griffith Lawy from Columbus, Ohio, United States
    submitted on Jul 04, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support

    I have been with Godaddy windows economic plan for 2 years. I'm using windows 2003 for my Blogger.NET although they have upgraded their new accounts to Windows 2008. In these 2 years, I didn't get any serious issue on stability. I think this plan is very cost effective. I'm aware of there are so much negative reviews to Godaddy web hosting plans. But I'm curious on "why". The massive of Godaddy customers may be the biggest reason. I recommend you for Godaddy, at least their Windows hosting plan is reliable.

    The 3 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Emilie Yin from Phoenix, Arizona, United States
    submitted on Jun 29, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend VPS

    Godaddy is reputated on domain name and SSL certificate but surely not on shared web hosting! Keep away. Their servers are quite slow and down frequently. Don't get trouble to yourselves.

    The 2 of 3 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Lowell Hawlte from Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
    submitted on Jun 05, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    doesn't recommend web hosting

    I switched from Godaddy to bluehost 2 weeks ago. It's extremely slow than all hosts I used before. Simply speaking, in past 2 weeks, the Google craweling speed increased by 400% as I seen in webmaster tool. If you want to push your site at top of Google, keep away from them.

    The 5 of 6 readers like this Godaddy review!
  • Dena from Columbus, Ohio, United States
    submitted on May 07, 2011
    Feature
    Price
    Speed
    Reliability
    Support
    Neutral web hosting

    The setup for multiple domains in Godaddy is really a nightmare. If you're .NET developer, keep away with Godaddy windows hosting at all costs. I customized the membership and role provider, and go figure, but there's no way to get it working. The security permission block just about everything in the platform, you can do nothing that requires a trust above the lowest possible setting in .NET infrastructure. The support employees have no idea about the code related errors or issues...

    The 5 of 8 readers like this Godaddy review!